Bellarine District is an urbanised rural electorate located south-west of Melbourne.

The district includes popular tourist attractions of Swan Bay, Swan Island and the historic fort and fishing port at Queenscliff. Seaside resorts are scattered along the coast of the Peninsula, attracting visitors throughout the year. The interior of the Peninsula is largely devoted to agriculture. 

The towns of the Bellarine Peninsula include Drysdale, Leopold, Ocean Grove, Pt Lonsdale, Queenscliff, Barwon Heads, Portarlington, St Leonards, Indented Head, Marcus Hill, Clifton Springs, Moolap and Curlewis.